Who Is The Best Football Manager In English Premier league?

In this world of sports, football is one of the most entertaining sporting events.

The Premier league, often referred to outside England as the English Premier league or the EPL, is the top level of the English football league system in the world. Contested by 20 teams or clubs, it's operation is based on promotion and relegation system.


Since it's formation in 1993, it has had it's fair share of managers who come and go. Some have been praised by their employers while others have been criticized.


As much as everyone loves slating if ex-managers there is no enough credit to give to those who have succeeded. This is because the goodness and impression of the manager is seen when he leaves the club.

The football club managers who have shown an outstanding performance in all the seasons are listed below:

1. Jose Mourinho

He is the current Tottenham Hotspur manager and he is one of the world's most accomplished managers who have won many trophies. He has won 25 senior trophies.

He is renowned for his tactical prowess and has managed many clubs such as: FC Porto, Inter Milan, Chelsea, Real Madrid and Manchester United with his fame rising while managing Manchester United.

He is widely considered to be one of the greatest football coach of all the time. He is also one of the most decorated and praised managers over the world.

Among the titles he has won in different clubs are:

 He led Académica to victory after scoring 4 goals against their opponents Benfica (4-3) in the year 1939 final.

He won Primeira Liga twice as a Porto manager in 2002. Taça de Portugal, the UEFA Cup and the UEFA Champions league; the latter being Porto's first European Cup title since 1987.

He won two premier league titles, a FA Cup and the two League Cups in three seasons as a Chelsea football club manager.

He won Serie A title and Coppa Italia as a Inter Milan manager.

2. David Moyes.

He is a Scottish professional football coach and a former player. He is currently the manager of West Ham United football club.

Among the clubs he has managed include: Preston North End, Manchester United, La Liga club Real Sociedad and Sunderland. He is also on the committee for the League Managers Association in an executive capacity.

Moyesmade over 540 league appearances as a center back in a playing career that began with Celtic where he won championship medal.

He also played for Cambridge United, Bristol City, Shrewsbury Town and Dunfermline Athletic before endings his playing career with Preston North End.

Hebecame a coach at Preston North, working his way up to assistant manager before eventual taking over as a manager in 1998 which was his first managerial position.

Moyes led Preston to the Division Two title in 1999-2000 and Division One playoff final the following season.

He took over the mantle of managerial from Walter Smith of Everton in March 2002. He led Everton to runners-up finish in the 2008-09 FA Cup which was their best performance in the competition since winning in 1995.

Among the honors which Moyes has as manager include:

Preston North End; Football league Second Division (1999-2000)

Manchester United; FA Community Shield 2013

3. Pep Guadiola

He was a defensive midfielder who usually played in a deep-lying playmaker role. He spent the majority of his career with Barcelona forming a part of Johan Cruyff's Dream Team that won the club's first European Cup in 1992.

Guardiola had stints with Brescia and Roma in Italy, Al-Alhi in Qatar and Dorados de Sinaloa in Mexico. Guardiola was capped 47 times for the Spanish national team and appeared at the 1994 FIFA World Cup as well as at UEFA Euro 2020.

After retiring as a player, he became the coach for Barcelona B with whom he won Tercera Division title and assumed control of the first team in 2008.

In his first season as a manager, he led Barcelona to treble of La Liga, Copa del Rey and UEFA champions league. In doing this, he became the youngest manager to win the aforementioned European competition.

In 2011, he was awarded the Catalon Parliament's Gold Medal after leading Barcelona to another La Liga and champions league double. On the same year ( 2011) Guardiola was named the FIFA World Coach of the year.

In 2012, he ended his four-year Barcelona stint having attained 14 honours and a club record. In 2013, he joined Bayern Munich as a manager and won Bundesliga every season he was there.

4. Jurgen Klopp

He is a German professional football manager and former player who is the manager of Liverpool football club.

He is widely regarded as one of the best managers in the world. He spent most of his playing career at Mainz 05. He was hard-working and physical player who had an impressive performance.

He was initially deployed as a striker and later moved to defence before retiring in 2001. After retiring, Klopp became the manager at Mainz 05 and secured a Bundesliga promotion in 2004.

After suffering relegation in 2006-07 season and unable to achieve promotion, Klopp resigned as the club's longest serving manager. He then became the manager of Borussia Dortmund guiding them to the Bundesliga title 2010-11, before winning Dortmund's first ever domestic double during a record-breaking season.

He guided Dortmund to a runner-up finish in the 2012-13 UEFA Champions League before leaving in 2015 as their longest serving manager.

Among the honors which Klopp has achieved include:

Mainz 05; 2 Bundesliga promotion in 2003-04 season

Borussia Dortmund; Bundesliga (2010-11 and 2011-12), DFB- Pokal (2011-12) runner-up 2013-14, 2014-15 and UEFA Champions League runner-up (2012-13)

Liverpool; Premier league (2019-2020), UEFA Champions League (2018-19) and runner-up (2017-18), UEFA Super Cup (2019)

Enjoyed this article? Stay informed by joining our newsletter!


You must be logged in to post a comment.

Author Profile
Popular Articles
Aug 23, 2019, 1:18 PM James Otabor
Mar 2, 2020, 11:49 AM Ishan shukla
Sep 18, 2020, 7:43 PM Jeanille B. Cogtas